One Direction You’re My Obsession

If you know me, you know I love boy bands (did you read my bio?). I don’t discriminate, I love them all. And they weren’t just a passing phase for me back in 1999, I still secretly (and now, not-so-secretly) love boy bands. I don’t know what it is about them. Maybe it’s the fact that they’re all manufactured by creepy older men (I’m looking at you, Lou Pearlman). Or maybe it’s because of their sweet harmonies or perfectly coiffed hair. Or the track pants and tanks (worn with some sort of chain or puka shell necklace or purity ring). Whatever it is, I’ve been a sucker for boy bands for as long as I can remember.

So it was only natural that I would be intrigued by this band on the X Factor, manufactured by a creepy old man (Simon Cowell), called One Direction. I was really into X Factor UK YouTube videos last spring. It was addicting (I actually enjoyed Cher Lloyd and seriously, why didn’t Rebecca Ferguson win?). But that boy band really had my heart. And when they sang She’s the One with Robbie Williams during the finals, I just about died. I want to give a shoutout to Maude Apatow (daughter of Leslie Mann and Judd) who was able to sum up my feelings (and probably everyone else’s) toward One Direction with this superb interview in Teen Vogue. How genius is the intro? Can my shoulder be in Harry’s armpit? Maude, Sam and I want to hang out with you.

Of course, like any boy band, there are only two guys that really sing. But unlike most boy bands, they’re all actually really attractive (sorry Chris Kirkpatrick, Joey Fatone, AJ McLean, etc.). Like I can’t choose which one I love the most, but I’m 85% sure Harry’s my favorite right now. It’s his hair, I think. They also combine some of my most favorite things in life: Brits, skinny pants (on boys, not me since I hate wearing pants), good hair and cheesy lyrics. Plus, they have an amazing stylist. The suspenders and bowties and fitted blazers? Swoon. So they’re a little young for me (I think the oldest one is 20), but if I learned anything from Delta Goodrem and Nick Jonas, is it’s okay to be cougar when you get to realize your boy band fantasies of yester-year. (Delta’s a boy band vet, she was engaged to Brian McFadden of Westlife).

If this doesn’t make you love them, I don’t know what will. Look at how dapper they look. Can I be one of those screaming girls? I swear, they’re going to be big in the U.S. I call dibs on Harry.

–SARAH

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

