S/S Saturday Selects: Best MMC Alum

This week we’re picking our favorite The All-New Mickey Mouse Club alum (and we’re talking the 90s MMC, not 50s. Sorry, Annette)

no caption necessary

Sam’s pick: Ryan Gosling

I mean, duh. Honestly, I was about to just leave it at that and call it a day. If the 2903290 viral memes about this man didn’t clue you in, everyone’s in love with the Gos. I’m not entirely sure when the rest of the world caught on, considering I’ve been eyeing this hottie since his (yep) MMC days. That’s not an exaggeration. You can ask anyone.

I think it had something to do with this:

Straight up sex appeal. But in all seriousness, Ryan has proven that he’s an amazingly talented guy, working on dozens of films including (the cheese-tastic classic) The Notebook, Half Nelson, Blue Valentine, and most recently, Drive. In his off-time, he plays music and breaks up fights in NYC that are captured on video and cause a frenzy on YouTube.

But the best part about Ryan? He has a sense of humor about himself. Take him reading his “Hey Girl…” memes. That shit is gold. Ryan, marry me?

She was on MMC?!

Sarah’s pick: Keri Russell

You thought I was going to pick Britney or Justin, didn’t you? Nope, it’s gotta be Felicity Porter Keri Russell. Simply because sometimes I can’t even believe that she was in the MMC and also because I just love Felicity so much. Sidenote, I went to college in New York and it still baffles me that my life didn’t mirror Felicity Porter’s. Where was my Noel and Ben goshdarnit!

Don’t get me wrong, I love Britney, Justin and Christina (let’s not forget JC Chasez, either), but Keri Russell came out of the MMC as a normal person. Sure, she had some rough times, like she pulled a Britney before it was even a Britney when she chopped off her beautiful hair (why God why?!) at the beginning of Felicity’s second season. That was a ratings slump. But overall, Keri’s made some pretty good career and life decisions. Besides Felicity, she’s been in movies like Waitress, August Rush and Mission Impossible III. And she was also in a fantastically cheesy but heartwarming Hallmark movie called The Magic of Ordinary Days.  It was cute, like those Sarah, Plain and Tall books (remember those?!) except Keri’s character was expecting a baby out of wedlock. She also married a normal person (a carpenter) and has two kids with absolutely adorable names, River and Willa Lou. She lives in Brooklyn. I’m pretty sure all of those signs point to mentally stable.

So yeah, Keri Russell is my favorite MMC alum, only because it’s ironic that she was even in MMC. How much will it cost Disney to film a reunion special? That needs to happen, I want Keri interacting with Britney and Christina. And I want Ryan to sit JT down and tell him that he really shouldn’t act anymore, unless it involves hosting SNL.

** Ryan Gosling, I love you too, but Sam already picked you and I wanted to mix it up. Can we still date?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

