Friday Fashion Flashback: Overalls

definitely not the ones I had as a child

I’ll admit it, I was a big fan of overalls when I was younger. I mean they were pretty dang comfortable. It was like wearing a romper (which is a huge trend right now, but yet why can’t I ever find one that doesn’t make me look like an oversized baby?), except it was flattering on EVERYONE. And I mean everyone: farmers, truck drivers, your mom and your dad, babies, kids, etc. Everyone looks good in jeans and overalls are basically jeans, so that’s my logic right there.

I really liked them because you didn’t have to stress too much on your outfit. You just chose a plain shirt, preferably a bright color to jazz up your outfit, snapped the overalls on and bam, you were ready to go to day camp or hanging out with your friends. I had a pair of overalls with Winnie the Pooh on them when I was like 8 or 9. They were super comfy and who doesn’t love Winnie the Pooh?

Now let’s get a couple things straight here, no, I did not wear overalls past the age of 10. Also, they were always overall shorts. Not the long ones. Why trap yourself in them? I hate wearing pants so long overalls would be my worst nightmare. And I do realize the problem of having to pee. It was a lot more work. But how do people pee when they’re wearing rompers nowadays?

I’m trying to imagine what it would be like if overalls were suddenly cool again. Yeah, people still wear them, but most of the people are hipsters who wear them ironically or they’re farmers. Everyone would be super comfortable. And you would have so many pockets, you probably wouldn’t need a purse. Plus, if you don’t think it’s sexy enough, put a bandeau top underneath instead of a conservative tee. That’s a trendy summer look right there. Sadly, I don’t think this fashion statement will be coming back anytime soon, but a girl can dream.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

