3 Ninjas

oh, hey boys

oh, hey boys

I was a very strange child. In addition to my love for Barbies and babydolls, I also thought I was destined to be a ninja. Yes, a ninja. This is no joke. I would watch Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Power Rangers over and over and over. I would play Mortal Kombat like no tomorrow. I would watch ninja movies all. the. time. My favorites? Surf Ninjas and yep, you guessed it, 3 Ninjas.

To be clear, there’s more than one 3 Ninjas movie: There’s 3 Ninjas, 3 Ninjas Kick Back, 3 Ninjas Knuckle Up, and 3 Ninjas: High Noon at Mega Mountain (which SHOULD NOT be counted at all, as it has weird characters and Hulk Hogan is in it. Ugh, terrible.)

The three main characters are Rocky, Colt, and Tum Tum who learn martial arts from their Japanese grandfather. Even though there were various actors throughout all three they were magical. (Tum Tum and Rocky are played by two different actors, each. Colt stuck it out and was in all three movies.) They fought for justice, er, something and like, wasn’t Colt the cutest? (My sister had a thing for Rocky #1). I would stand in my living room, practicing my high kicks and hiyas. Really, I don’t know how I didn’t get selected for ninja training. It still doesn’t sit right with me.

In college, when I found out that the box DVD set was available, I marched right over to Borders (RIP) and bought it. The cashier guy gave me weird stares, but I didn’t care. I was buying a piece of my childhood! Then I got back to my dorm only to find out that they had left out the original 3 Ninjas movie and put in High Noon. GROSS. I still need to buy the original movie, which as Amazon puts it, “crosses Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Home Alone!” You can see why I was in love.

Anyway, for your viewing pleasure, some kid rounded up the best moments of the original movie. (Oh, how I wanted a ninja name so badly!)

Leave a Reply

