Friday Fashion Flashback: Claire’s Stores

A few weeks ago, I visited a Claire’s store. I’m serious. I was probably the oldest one there who wasn’t chaperoning anyone. In my defense, I had a good reason for being there and it wasn’t because I buy my jewelry there on the regular. I was looking for some accessories to wear to a 90s themed party.

When I realized that I wasn’t going to find a feathery pen there, I kept looking around and before I knew it, I had spent 30 minutes there. I was getting really nostalgic and I had to try on all the headbands and look at the Justin Bieber and Cody Simpson memorabilia. I totally remember when Claire’s was my favorite store in the mail. You’d go in, arm yourself with one of those baby shopping baskets and go crazy. I’d make a beeline straight for the earrings (the sensitive solutions kind for my delicate ears, of course). They always had great deals like buy two get one free. Then I’d head over to bracelets and necklaces, then finally the anklets and toe rings. Ugh why did we think anklets and toe rings were cool? Now thinking back on it, I don’t even know why I thought toe rings made my feet look good. They were kind of creepy.

But Claire’s was a magical place. Not only could you get all the fashion jewelry and hair accessories you’ve ever wanted, you could get Backstreet Boys, N’SYNC and Britney branded stuff — like backpacks, t-shirts, pens, etc. You could even get candy there! And how many people got their ears pierced at a Claire’s? It was a ritual. The store was a mish-mash of everything that a preteen girl could ever want. (Sidenote: do Icing stores still exist? They were like the cool, older sister of Claire’s stores.) If I were to count up how much money I spent at Claire’s in my life, it would probably be worth a month’s rent or more. Did I mention I live in New York City? Yeah, that ain’t cheap.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

