John Legend

It’s really hard to believe that I haven’t mentioned my love for John Legend yet. But now it’s out: I LOVE HIM. His smooth voice, his piano-playing, his smile, even his dancing. Ugh, he’s just so great. It all started with Ordinary People back in 2005 and it’s still one of my favorite songs ever. When his first album Get Lifted came out in 2005, I must have listened to it a million times. Also, this might have been just before I got an iPod (how did I survive?) so I actually listened to the CD on my Discman. Like that’s legit, right? I just remember thinking that this John Legend dude was so cool. He was super smart (he went to UPenn!) and he was talented. He sang backup vocals for Alicia Keys and Kanye. Kanye and he were like besties.

I saw him in concert my senior year of high school. He wore what my friends and I affectionately called, Space Pants. Gray, shiny track pants. He grinded with some random audience member to his song Slow Dance. I was so jealous. Corinne Bailey Rae opened for him. It was perfect. Then I got to be graced with his presence again when I was a senior at NYU. I randomly went to this screening because I heard there would be free drinks and that John Legend would possibly be there (my two weaknesses in life, I suppose). I didn’t really think he was going to show up but there I was getting a beer and BAM! John Legend is like five feet away from me. I was hyperventilating and shaking. I texted a bunch of people to let them know that they should be jealous. My friend even came from studying at the library just to see him. It was a dream come true (but if only he sang that night…I would have fainted most likely).

Anyways, now I’ve been watching Duets and let me tell you, if it wasn’t for the bromance of John Legend and Robin Thicke, I don’t think I would be tuning in. Oh yeah, Kelly Clarkson and Jennifer Nettles, you guys are alright too I guess. Let’s face it, it’s a weird premise and it reminds me of that movie with Gwyneth Paltrow (that was called Duets also). But seriously, John and Robin need to go on tour together again. I read that they went on tour in 2008 and then I got teary-eyed because I didn’t even know they did that. What a missed opportunity.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

