Fruity Snacks

Chances are a fruit snack has been packed in your lunchbox at least once in your life. If not, what kind of childhood did you have? And I’m not talking about the healthy kind of fruit snacks, like the fruit leathers. Nope, I’m talking about the Fruit by the Foot, Gushers and Fruit Roll-Ups. I’m pretty sure those had about 5% fruit and 95% sugar. But they were so good and the packaging was AWESOME. Here are my thoughts on the trifecta of fruit snacks:

Fruit by the Foot: This one’s my all-time favorite. Fruit by the Foot snacks were so fun because you’d just unravel them as you ate and on the paper they had cool jokes or fun facts. Plus, who didn’t wrap those suckers around your fingers and turn it into a pseudo-lollipop? It was hard to choose between Gushers and Fruit by the Foot, but then I thought about the Star Wars Fruit by the Foot with the green sprinkles and it was game over. They came out around when Star Wars Episode I was in theaters. They were green apple-flavored and sparkly. Nothing beats a fruity snack with sparkles.

Gushers: My second favorite. There was some kind of liquid inside them, guys! How did they do that? I loved all the flavors and probably could eat all the packages from a box in one sitting. I have to say, my favorite flavors were strawberry and the tropical blend. Delicious.

Fruit Roll-Ups: The only reason why I never got into Fruit Roll-Ups was simply because I could never cut out the shapes correctly. Let’s face it, they were really hard to take out. Well, for me at least. And compared to Gushers (they explode in your mouth!) or Fruit by the Foot, they were just a strip of flattened fruit snacks. Boring.

Did I miss any childhood fruit snacks? I wonder what the kids are eating these days. It’s probably some organic poor man’s substitute.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

