Easy Bake Oven

Every girl (and maybe a handful of boys) had one of these when they were younger. Am I right? They were our first foray (and possibly last, for some of us who are culinary-challenged) into baking and cooking. The commercials led you to believe that delicious cakes and cookies would come out of it in a matter of minutes. In reality, the results were more like slightly-baked messes that you would feed to your dog or parents or guinea pig younger siblings. I mean, baking something in a toy? That can’t be good. Especially if the only ingredient you add to the mix is water.

But for some reason we loved them! I remember going over to my best friend’s house and baking up a storm. You added water to the mix, stirred it up and popped it in the oven like a couple minutes and surprise! You baked. We really enjoyed putting icing and decorating the cakes too and selling them at our lemonade stand. Yes, we had a lemonade stand, but it was more like a Tang stand and the only people who would visit it were the brothers next door who would just wreck havoc. Oh, childhood, I miss you so.

In addition to the Easy Bake Oven, Hasbro came out with a version with a blender so you can make drinks. I had one of those but I can’t remember what they called it and after 20 minutes of intense googling, I gave up. So if you had one and know what it’s called can you please put me out of my misery and let me know what it was? It’s gonna bug me.

They’re still making Easy Bake Ovens and apparently they made a version for boys in 2002. And in 2007, there was a recall because they realized that kids could get there hands stuck in the oven and burn themselves. Which makes me wonder why they didn’t think it was a hazard in the first place. And last year the ovens went “green” and now have halogen lightbulbs.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

